Monthly Archives: June 2017


 The Rhode Island Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects continues to encourage and recognize excellence in the practice of landscape architecture and to inform the public of the broad scope and value of landscape architecture services. The Executive Committee of the Rhode Island Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (RIASLA) hereby invites landscape architects and affiliated professionals who have demonstrated excellence in their pursuit to lead, educate and participate in the stewardship, planning and artful design of our cultural and natural environment.


L+A Landscape Architecture 2015 Honor Award Winner

Projects selected as worthy of an award will receive one of the following in each category:

  • Presidential Award of Excellence – One award may be presented (if merited) from all categories, determined by unanimous vote of the Jury, for work demonstrating exceptional contribution in the advancement of the profession.
  • Honor Award – The Jury may choose a limited number of Honor Awards to recognize superior professional accomplishment.
  • Merit Award – The Jury may select any number of Merit Awards to recognize outstanding professional accomplishment.
  • Special Recognition Award – The Jury may select a single project that recognizes the outstanding professional accomplishment and stands alone from the other entries in its attributions.


Winners will be recognized at the 2017 Holiday Party and Awards Banquet, which will be the week of December 4th. Check our website closer to the date for specific information.


The Professional Design Awards Program is open to all landscape architects registered to practice in Rhode Island, professionals in public or private practice of landscape architecture who reside in Rhode Island, affiliated professionals, faculty currently teaching at accredited Rhode Island landscape architecture programs, and students currently enrolled in an accredited Rhode Island landscape architecture curriculum submitting works associated with their academic pursuits.  Projects designed and completed after January 1, 2010 are eligible. Once the project receives an award, it is no longer eligible for future RIASLA Professional Award Programs.


An entry fee of $125 for ASLA members, $225 for Non-ASLA-Members, $25 for ASLA Student members and $50 for Non- ASLA Student members must accompany each submission.


Awards entry is a two-step process.

FIRST, you submit your entry form (link below) to and pay the entry fee by clicking the PayPal “Buy Now” button. Payment must be received by 5:00 pm on Wednesday, September 13, 2017.

Small Buy Now Button

You can also mail a check payable to Rhode Island Chapter ASLA to: Karen Beck, 248 Spring Street, Hope Valley, RI 02832

THEN, instructions, a checklist and your unique login ID and password will be emailed to you for uploading your digital submittal to the RIASLA ftp site. Digital Entry must be uploaded by 5:00 pm on Monday, October 2nd 2017.

Additional information:

2017 RIASLA Professional Awards Program Entry Form

2017 RIASLA Professional Awards Program

Contact with questions or if you would like more information.